My Pluto Prompt

Why I am for Pluto Being a Planet

By: Blue Cain

In the recent articles “What is a Planet” by Nasa and “When is a Planet Not a Planet” by Daniel Santos, I can conclude that you where debating the decision to reclassify Pluto as a dwarf planet was correct or incorrect. Unfortunately, the decision to reclassify Pluto as a dwarf planet caused such large disagreements among the people of the IAU, which is the company that made the decision to reclassify Pluto and the people of the world. I strongly believe that the decision to reclassify Pluto as a dwarf planet was incorrect because the third definition was vague and its awkward orbit.

I strongly believe that Pluto should be a planet because the definition of a planet was very vague and unclear. Both text exclaims that there was no definition until 2006, and the definition was made amongst only two people. Therefore, the people did not make the definition it was just made by two people who happen to think that Pluto should not be a planet. Because of the vague definition, I believe Pluto should be reclassified. But that is not the only reason why I disagree with the decision to reclassify Pluto.

Another reason why I disagree with the decision to reclassify Pluto as a dwarf planet is its awkward orbit. Earth, Mars, Jupiter, and Neptune all share their orbits with asteroids and comets. Because Pluto shares its orbit, it cannot be a planet. But technically, Neptune shares its orbit with Pluto, but Neptune is still considered a planet. Not only Neptune, but Earth, Mars, and Jupiter all share their orbits with comets and asteroids, but they are all still classified as planets. That is why I disagree with the decision to reclassify Pluto as a dwarf planet.

I strongly disagree with the reclassification of Pluto because of the vague third definition and its awkward orbit. I stated that the third definition was vague and that Earth, Mars, Jupiter, and Neptune all share their orbits with asteroids and comets and that they are still classified as planets. Based on the two recent articles “What is a Planet” by Nasa and “When is a Planet Not a Planet” by Daniel Santos, I still strongly disagree with the decision to reclassify Pluto as a dwarf planet.

One thought on “My Pluto Prompt

  • February 27, 2016 at 2:07 am
    Permalink

    My very excited mother just served us nachos. . .no Pluto 👽!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *